AMA Championship Racing Series

The American Motorcycle Association, also known as the AMA, is a racing series that was originally founded in 1942. Currently, it is headquartered in Pickering, Ohio. The organization is a non-profit one and hosts events with many motorcyclists in hopes to fight for the legal rights of all motorcyclists around the country. A few years later after the association was founded, the organization introduced the AMA Supercross Championship. This new event proved to be a popular one and very soon it lead to become one of the toughest in all off-road championship series in the world. Over the years it has become a variety of different series as well. The Supercross, Motocross and the Arenacross championship series events.

Supercross Racing Series

The Monster Energy brand Supercross is the first series of each year and is usually held in January. The event is typically held inside an indoor arena such as a football field or baseball field around the country. The Supercross event is a man-made course which consists of lots of very steep jumps, turns, whoops and other obstacles. The series encompasses a 20-lap racing format in order to determine the overall winner of the race. The whole Monster Energy Supercross event is a total of 17 races which are scheduled every weekend. At the end of the race, the winner is determined by the racer who has the most points overall. The racer with the most points overall is then crowned as the Supercross Champion for the year.

Motocross Racing Series

During the second half of the year of race season, the Motocross racing series begins. Typically, the racers are the same as from the Supercross events. There is about a month break between the Supercross and Motocross series to let the riders get prepared for the 12-race Motocross series which begins in the month of May. These events are also man-made with similar obstacles but made on a much larger scale. Each rider will compete in two thirty-minute motos in order to gain points. Each weekend there will be a winner. At the end of the 12 races, the rider with the most overall points will be crowned the Motocross Champion for the year.

Arenacross Racing Series

The Arenacross series is the third and last series of the racing season each year. It was developed by the AMA and it closely matches the Supercross race and scoring methods. However, this racing series is done in much smaller venues such as basketball stadiums and hockey arenas. This series is more geared towards amateur riders who want to get into racing and learn the race and how to compete. It is a great way for newer riders to transition to the other race events like the Motocross and Supercross racing series.

All three of these AMA racing events are created to allow riders and teams to practice all year for both outdoor and indoor seasons. Controlling heavy off-road bikes on technical tracks of any size is no simple feat. Riders are typically given heart monitors to wear while riding to monitor their anaerobic heart rates. These alone have proven that motocross is one of the more physically demanding and dangerous sports around the world. All riders must be in good health to compete in each of the racing series events.